100 Mile In June


In Which I Try Run 1… Just Read The Title Again

So I managed to finish May on 75 miles, which is a lot more than I expected as I’ve been a lazy bugger lately. Looking back over my stats since I started running and it seems its my second best month for miles EVER (since I started running in 2012.)

The best month I ever had was last year when I managed 100 mile one month. That month being last June…

…ooooo thats like a YEARLY JUNE CHALLENGE!

I got so giddy I made this to keep a visual motivational paper pen notebook drawing representation of my miles:

image

Obviously one box equals one mile. Don’t need a comment like housemate Rob when he said “there aren’t 100 days in June”….

June 1st

I worked a 12 hour shift, 6-6. So obviously you’re thinking that I didn’t run much, and honestly I was only planning on 10k at most, but ended up (no idea how) running 10 MILES.

June 2nd

Figured a short, 3.1 mile recovery run. Chuffing hurt that did though.

June 4th

A guy at work, Paul, has started running. He’s only fine treadmill runs up till now though, so I convinced him to come out on the road with me. His fastest treadmill 5km was 38 mins. We did a 5km on the road in 30:45. OooooAHHHHH!

June 6th

My day off so planned on running 15 miles. Slept in though, and stupid hot (for England) so put off my run for a day. Instead, I sat in the back garden and got sunburnt.

June 7th

Woke up around half 7. Didn’t fancy running and considered putting it off again but I’ve been reading Unbroken (about Louis Zamperini) and the things he went through with running and everything else made me realise I was being a bit sawft, so got my kit on and got out the door.

0830 and it was already 16 degrees. My plan was to run uphill for 5 miles to a reservoir called Ogden Water, lap it a few times (four) for another 5 miles then run 5 miles home to get a total of 15.

Honestly, I considered turning around at two miles. My breathing was off, both my shins hurt and I was dripping with sweat. In my head I told myself I’ll get to 5k, then I can turn and end up on 10k. Got there, and figured I’d try push on to 4 miles. Got there, then thought if I get to Ogden Water I’ll do a lap to see what its like and then go home.

God it hurt. Hardest 5 miles I’ve ever done. Got there though. The laps of the reservoir are around 1.2 miles so figured I’d struggle through one then bugger off home.

image

Water selfie, then got going. And you know what? The lap was amazing. Breathing sorted itself out, plenty of shaded areas, beautiful scenery and hardly anyone there. I flew round it. Decided I’d do the full four laps after all. I seriously enjoyed each and everyone. The best bit was when I ran by a mother and son (around 5 year old) and I heard the kid say “Mummy, does that man know he’s allowed to walk?”

image

Four laps done, ready for 5 miles home. Figured ‘sod it’, do two more. So I did. If I went home now I’d finish on 17.5 miles, 2.5 more than I thought I’d get.

image

But then, THEN, that voice came into my head…

“Two more laps would get you home with 20 miles…”

Looked at my drink situation, looked at the time, looked at the temperature (24 degrees) and made the sensible choice.

TWO MORE LAPS.

And I still enjoyed it. Finished those, then ran the 5 miles downhill home. God it was chuffing hot…

Dunno what happened with my camera but this is me after 20 miles, looking quite fresh!

image

“Mad Dogs and Englishmen go out in the midday sun, not to mention Englishmen in Mad Dogs running shirts”

In case you don’t believe me, here: (look at that elevation!!)

image

Didn’t realise how dusty the run was until I got undressed and thought I still had trousers on

image

So yeah! 36 miles so far for June, very chuffed with that!

Next Up

Hull 10k on June 19th

6 thoughts on “100 Mile In June

  1. Running 100 miles in June. You sir are a certified G and a bonafide stud. And you cant teach that!

  2. The grid is a really great idea, I will definitely use it to motivate myself to run a little more, as I’ve been slacking lately.

  3. Great Challenge! I took on the MacMillan OutRunMay Challenge to do 80+miles…. I LOVED IT and ended up clicking 145miles!!!! Was stoked! So GO FOR IT! Felt amazing!

  4. Oh I know the lazy sir!! May was my big cycling miles month, last year I had 602, After work on May 31st I needed 55 miles to match it…. I did 57!! We do what we have to do!

  5. Nice dude – love the dust trousers, haha. In Nevada, we get plenty of the desert dust all over the place. And solid goal for running 100 miles! I’m with you, and typically have one month a year during IRONMAN training where I crank out 100. It’s brutal but seems to work well… if only we didn’t have to swim and bike as well B-)

Leave a comment