2014 is here!


In Which I Get Going

Happy New Year! How was it? Ha ha, really?! How embarrassing! I’m sure they’ll forget.

As you might know, I’ve started my 20 week pre-Ironman-training training. Which meant that on the 1st day of this New Year, at 9:30am, I found that I was out on the streets running.
It was my first run in my new Brooks running shoes that Sarah’s mum bought me for Christmas, and they were very comfy. Also, it was my first run in about 4 weeks, and was surprised how good I felt.

I managed to clock in 5 miles, and one of which (downhill) was timed at 7:22!

I didn’t see many people about but did pass a couple of runners. (Before I set off, I made sure I was wearing a race t-shirt so that I didn’t get confused with a new year resolution runner.) And they both nodded at me, so that was nice.

BUT! (But!) My training isn’t as perfect as you might imagine! I’ve run all the times I’ve needed, and cycled more than needed, but I’ve not yet gone swimming. And that is the fault of the swimming pool. Thursday’s, it seems, they only have adult swim for an hour. And during that hour, I was drinking a hazelnut mocha in Costa coffee. Gonna have to swim twice next week!

Also, entered York Marathon again!

In Other News
The handle on our toilet broke, so bought a new one.

……..What?

36 thoughts on “2014 is here!

  1. Looking forward to following your adventures in IM training. I’ve been in that mode more than a few times and in spite of having a coach, I’m very good at getting things wrong. Maybe someday I’ll get it right :) Best wishes!!

  2. Good luck on ironman. I’m also in training for it. Adding pool this week. 90 some days to go for me.

  3. This has kept me up all night…

    I must ask…

    The handle on your toilet broke so you bought a new one…

    A new handle or a new toilet?

    p.s. York Marathon = HUZZAH

  4. Phew! Best of luck in Ironman training!!

  5. Great job – Will follow your Ironman training this year and next .. York Marathon!

  6. I’ve been doing the opposite and skipping the bike. I don’t mind a real bike but those machines feel so different.

  7. Good luck on your training!

  8. What a great run! I would do the same thing with the running shirts, I would so feel like I was being judged! :)

  9. Keep it going! You started the year with a great run and with the toilet fixed, I cannot really think of anything else you would need for a successful pre-Ironman-training training… :-)

  10. I did my first 70.3 last year, will love to see how someone else approaches it! SO glad you signaled those other runners that you were a lifer, otherwise you may have received a beat down. :-)

  11. Good job on the toilet handle Hemingway!

  12. Looking forward to following your Ironman journey! Looking to do my first 70.3 this year.

  13. Oh gosh, I could dream of a 7:22 mile. I celebrate when I manage at 8:00 split! Congrats :)

  14. Went for a cold run myself this morning! I’m not in full-on IM training mode yet, since IMChoo isn’t until September, but it won’t be long now!

  15. Hiya,

    Seems like a good start of the year … Both on a training front and domestic front.

    I will be following you during you pre-ironman training.

    I have started myself training in November for IM Lanzarote 2014 … Just over 4 months from now

    Want to know my progress in figures till now then check out … http://www.triathlontrainingblog.co.uk

    Good luck with Marathon York as well

    Thomas

  16. What kind of Brooks do you use? I love my Glycerins :-) Good luck this year! Plenty of races ahead.

  17. darn broken toilet handles! It’s nice to have a new Nike+ Running buddy

  18. Good to hear the trainings going well and that you fixed the toilet!

Leave a Reply

